Rain Coming

NOVEMBER 27, 2022,11:00 a.m./ NOVEMBER 28, 2022, 7:30 p.m.

»My music is like a garden«, the Japanese composer Tōru Takemitsu explained in an interview in 1993, »and I am the gardener. Listening to my music is like walking through this garden and experiencing changes in light, patterns and textures...« His atmospherically dense composition »Rain Coming« from 1982 describes the peculiar mood when a rain shower »is in the air« , but has not started yet. The piece opens the third symphony concert with which the Philharmonic Orchestra of the Hanseatic City of Lübeck draws attention to climate and environmental protection. The multi-award-winning cellist Tanja Tetzlaff has also been committed to "Orchester des Wandels"  since it was founded. She can be heard in Lübeck with Camille Saint-Saëns' Cello Concerto No. 1, a piece which requires a high degree of expression and technical finesse. It softens the classic three-movement structure by combining its parts into a large-format single movement. In this respect it resembles Robert Schumann's Symphony in D minor, which combines four uninterrupted movements into a symphonic flow. Schumann published this second symphony, which was composed in 1841, slightly revised in 1853 as his "Fourth".


Takahiro Nagasaki, conductor
Tanja Tetzlaff, cellist
Philharmonic Orchestra of the Hansestadt Lübeck

Schreib uns

Finde uns bei Facebook

nach oben