„Erwachen“- Awakening

26. September 2021 8:00 p.m.
St. Katharinen Church, Hamburg

Final Concert of the Hamburg Climate Week 2021

The focus of the concert evening is the climate monodrama Awakening by the young Berlin composer Alexander Liebermann, who lives in New York, for soprano and chamber ensemble. The 10-minute work takes us on a journey into the near future: the resident of a mega-city realizes the dramatic consequences of her ancestors' indifference to the topic of climate change. Your description of destroyed nature, but also of natural beauty and the title awakening can be understood as an impulse to act for us. The composer Alexander Liebermann will join in live from New York and tell about his work.

This is framed by pieces for cello quartet, which range from the Renaissance sounds of Orlando di Lasso to Villa Lobos ’Bachianas Brasileiras, whose longing aria sounds in the moonlight over the sea. In between there are shorter solo numbers for cello, horn and percussion.

The London-based soprano and co-founder of the green Nextus Festival Sofia Livotov is accompanied by musicians from the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra and several member orchestras from Orchester des Wandels Deutschland: Philharmonic State Orchestra Hamburg, Philharmonic Orchestra of the Hanseatic City of Lübeck and State Orchestra Braunschweig.

The individual pieces and appearances are staged by the young Berlin director Sophie Louise Busch, who already appeared as Hans Neuenfels' assistant.

Free entry, donations welcome.


Olivia Jeremias, cello
Saskia Hirschinger, cello
Valentin Priebus, cello
Jan Bauer, cello
Eva Schinnerl, flute
Bettina Rühl, viola
Johannes Wache, horn
Fabian Otten, percussion
Sofia Livotov, soprano

Alexis Agrafiotis, conductor
Sophie Louise Busch, stage director

Schreib uns

Finde uns bei Facebook

nach oben